Not a good weekend for writing, but I had a great time yesterday. DH and I went to Central Otago (Otago is the province we live it, Central is, well, in the middle of it) to a pick-your-own apricot orchard close to the town of Roxbrough. It is about a two hour drive each way , so we made a day of it. We took a picnic lunch and ate down by the Clutha River, after walking around a historically significant gold mining area. Then we picked apricots for about thirty minutes, and came away with almost more than we could eat fresh, make into jam and freeze. I put up 10 jars of jam this morning and there is still a huge bowl of apricots left to eat and make into cobbler.

Today I spent stripping wallpaper of my youngest son’s room, preparatory to painting the walls light blue. I have been promising to do this all summer holidays, and now that school starts in one week, it is down to the crunch. Our Japanese homestay student will be returning next Saturday and then life will return to the cycle of school days and weekends.

I love spending time with my children, but I will be glad to have some quiet time during the school days. That is when I get most of my best writing done!

I still don’t have the edited copy of book II back, and I am growing ever more anxious.

My writing buddy just returned from his holiday abroad, and we will start looking at book III. Yay.

Book IV is, well, I dunno. Sometimes I think it is OK, other times it just seems hopeless.

add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

