I just got done with a novel, and I won’t tell you what it was called or who wrote it.  It was a dissatisfying read.  Not because the story wasn’t interesting–it was.  It was fast-paced and imaginative.  The problem was with the protagonist.  He was tall, good-looking, debonair, brave, well-spoken, humble, resourceful and a chick magnet.  During the course of the book he never: got hurt, lost an argument or a fight, backed down, made a mistake…

I think you see where I am going with this.

I got the impression that the author might have been writing about a perfect version of himself.

Face it, we all make mistakes.  That is how we learn and grow.  To have a main character who never puts a foot wrong takes all the interest out of the book, at least for me.  We want our characters to be engaging–to be human.  This guy was just annoying.

Has anyone else encountered this, and if so, did it bother you?

