When I was just starting, working on my first novel, I really didn’t have to think too much about managing my writing. I just spent my time putting new words down, or looking at what I had just written. It was all the same project, so it wasn’t too difficult. Now things are a little different, and I struggle to apportion the proper amounts of time to each of my endeavors. In addition to writing new words (for book IV) I am editing book II with an eye to publication sometime next month. I am also going through book III, so that I can submit it to the publisher when book II comes out. It can be very difficult to switch gears between these things, because each kind of writing requires a different sort of mindset. Also I am not nearly so fond of editing as I am of new stuff. 🙂

I also want to do some research for my next series, Sons of the Mariner. I have a stack of books ready to read, tut I don’t seem to be able to find the time.

And…

I am going to be visiting the USA for a month in April/May. So I don’t expect to get a lot done, writing-wise, during that period. All the more reason to effectively manage my time now. I know I should be making check lists, and prioritizing etc. etc. but writing is so organic, it is difficult to force myself to do one kind when I feel like doing the other. And the finished product is likely to reflect this.

It is a balancing act, for sure.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

