It’s 2008, and that means it is time to sit back and count my blessings for 2007. It was a pretty good year. My health continued to improve–after years of absolutely crippling migraines, often three or more episodes a month, I finally beat them. Without drugs or botox or anything unnatural. Turns out my migraines were caused by gluten intolerance. No doctor ever told me this; I found out on my own, by trial and error. I’d given up coffee, chocolate, red wine, aged cheese, bacon and ham in the past, with no good results, but with bread and pasta the improvement was literally seen overnight. Now I can eat everything that I used to think was a trigger, as long as I stay away from gluten. Life is good.

I got my publishing contract. That was amazing. Sometimes I still can’t believe it.

I rode a train from Los Angeles to New Orleans, called the “Sunset Limited.” One of the most relaxing and fun experiences of my life–I heartily recommend it. Amtrak needs more money, people! We should have a rail system to rival that of Europe.

I am very lucky to be married to a wonderful guy who doesn’t mind a little chaos in his life occasionally. This year we celebrated our 6th anniversary. My four children continue to grow, each following their own path, and I am proud of them all.

So 2007 was a good year, and I am very thankful.

On to 2008. This year will see the release of three more books, with any luck, assuming I can get over my difficulties with book IV. I will continue to update this blog regularly, and keep adding to my community of “friends” all over the planet. There are a lot of communities on the Internet. It is reshaping the world in ways we cannot yet dream.

Speaking of internet buddies, Pat Bertram has been selected as a semi-finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. Pat is a talented writer, and it will be very worth your while to check out his submission, “Daughter Am I,” at:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00121WDKQ?tag=word08-20?tag=word08-20.

and leave a comment.

add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

