I feel very privileged to be able to do my own cover art designs. It is a very enjoyable adjunct to writing a book. I don’t know much about the marketing science of book covers, although I am sure I could look on the Internet and find out if I really wanted to. But I do know what I like, and what I think fits my work, and so I am lucky to be able to bring that to life. These days one doesn’t have to be an artist to do “art.” There are a lot of free drawing programs out there. I use Serif Draw Plus, which is, I am sure, a pretty basic program, but it meets my needs very well and is easy to use. I have used others (Aldus Intellidraw springs to mind) that were impossibly complicated and frustrating.

I finished the cover art for Ketha’s Daughter yesterday and sent it off to my publisher. He was happy with it, so that is one less thing to worry about. Now if only he likes the book as much…

I began with a photograph, just like I did for Hythea, and then heavily modified it with the abovementioned drawing program. I have something darker and more dramatic for this book, in keeping with the theme, which is more violent and less romantic.

If you want to take a look, visit the new page I have made for Ketha’s Daughter.

add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

