I have finished my last perusal of Book II, and found a distressing number of things I wanted to change. So I made the changes, looked at it quickly one last time, and sent it off to my publisher. I never know when to call things finished. How do you tell when something is good enough? I am sure, if I were a painter, I would stand for hours before my canvas, applying little bitty dabs of paint here and there, trying to get the picture “perfect.” But would I know when to quit? I don’t think so.

But now it has gone, and I will have to wait until I get the edited version back. Part of me always worries that my first success with writing was just a fluke, and I really don’t have any talent at all. Will my editor like my second book as much as he did my first? What if he doesn’t?

I guess I will find out sometime soon. My own feeling is that I like Book II better. I think the writing is tighter, and the story more focussed. In other words I had become a more experienced writer by the time I finished it and it shows. Which means, by the same token, that I ought to like book III even more. I can’t make up my mind if that is the case, but I can certainly say at this point I don’t like book IV at all.

Writer’s block, I suppose.

add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

