I need to do some serious rewriting on the first six chapters of my newest book. It is lacking a certain “je ne sais quoi.” Well actually I do know what. Not enough conflict. My problem is that I like all my characters too much. I am attached to them, and I don’t want them to suffer. Yeah I know they are only figments of my imagination, but in the course of three books they have grown into people, with lives of their own. Crazy, yes? I read over what I had written so far and saw four places where I deliberately avoided any conflict. And it wouldn’t even be in character for these people to go along with the things I have them calmly accepting. Argh. So my project for the next four days is to fix at least one of those scenes, and add some blood and fire to the proceedings. Wish me luck!

Back from the beach for a couple of days. We needed hot showers! Also some tools and materials from the workshop to do some improvements to the house on Purakaunui Bay. I am still trying to clean away forty years of kerosene lantern grime from the walls and ceilings. Takes a long time and lots of elbow grease, but the end product is worth it. I made new door curtains today for the three tiny bedrooms (so tiny that actual doors would be a huge inconvenience.) The old curtains were absolutely threadbare. My other project for the next three day stay is to paint the largest bedroom blue. Then it will be time to tackle the ceiling in the main room, which is greasy black with smoke. Yuck!

It is fun to sit at the window of our house with binoculars and watch what’s going on around the beach and the cliffs. This last time I saw a surfer with two largish black dogs. He went out into the waves for awhile, and the dogs played around on the beach. Then the surfer came back in, and the dogs came running into the water to meet him. He grabbed one of the dogs and put it on the surfboard and then towed it out into deeper water. Then he waited for a wave and shoved the board forward, and the dog surfed back to the beach! The other dog was jumping and barking, obviously eager to have his turn. The guy spent fifteen or twenty minutes giving both dogs rides on his surfboard and they loved it. I thought that was pretty cool. I made a little movie of this with my digital camera and I was going to post it, but then I found out that I have to pay extra for the privilege. Oh well. Use your imaginations.

I hope you all have safe and wonderful New Year’s celebrations. I’ll be in bed by eleven, as usual.
add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

