After looking at my blogging buddy Susan Shay’s site, I have decided to go all festive and post a picture of our Christmas tree. Tree

I know it looks a little funny, but we always cut the top out of one of the big pines we have on our property. That way the tree goes on living, and we get the smell of fresh pine tree inside the house.

I will tell you a crazy thing about living in the south part of New Zealand. Right now, at Christmas time, it doesn’t get dark until almost 11 pm. So there is absolutely no point in putting Christmas lights up anywhere. 😦 I really miss them. In the USA, the kids and I always used to drive around the neighborhoods and admire the lights. A few people do put lights up here, but who wants to be driving around at midnight to look at them?

But one thing that I do appreciate here is the relative calmness of the season. The decorations in the stores don’t go up until the end of November, and everything is fairly low-key. I worked retail in a big mall in Birmingham, Alabama for years, and the amount of in-your-face Christmas advertising that went on used to make me sick of the holiday season by about mid-October!

add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

