Just finished the first of several sad scenes in book IV. I have to be in a certain head space before I start writing emotional stuff or the words just don’t come out right. I might have to think of sad episodes in my own life, which isn’t that hard, but can be distressing. Sometimes it bothers me for days afterwards, and I get a bleed over from my imaginary world into the real one. Other times I can just listen to sad music and that does the trick. In fact, I have a whole playlist on I-Tunes, with things like Barber’s ‘Adagio for Strings’ and Evanescence’s ‘My Immortal,’ to get me in the mood.

But there was one scene (involving the torture of a favorite character) that I wrote for book III and I still can’t read it again. It’s that upsetting. I don’t know how I am ever going to edit it.

How do the rest of you writers out there deal with writing the difficult passages?

