Last night I finished going over book II, Ketha’s Daughter, with Mike.  We had forty pages to work through and it all went pretty smoothly.  I only have a few minor edits to take care of before I send it away to my publisher after the Christmas break.  Then we will go into another round of editing and changes, but hopefully not too many!  I have trimmed about 3,000 words from Ketha over the last few months, leaving a tighter story with less “telling” on my part.  The urge to tell and explain everything to the reader is one I have constant difficulties with, especially since my “world” is a fairly complex one.  There are two or three levels of story, with attendant characters, going on all the time.

But I tell myself that I mustn’t spoon feed the reader.  I like challenging works, and I hope other people do too.

