I mentioned the other day that following the rules of writing won’t necessarily make you a success. I thought I might share this piece of advice from my editor, received just yesterday. This is in response to a question I had asked him on whether I should delete a cliché, “hungry as a bear” that a character uses in one scene in Heart of Hythea.

He wrote:

Not at all. Sometimes you have to ignore all these so-called rules of fiction writing (never use “really”, never use “that”, never use a cliché). They are usually made up by people who think they know enough about writing to teach others how to do it, but they rarely do know much, and often have never even had fiction published (too many writing manuals are written by people you’ve never heard of). Basically, if it works, use it.

Enough said I think.

